documenta 14
8 April – 17 September 2017
8 April – 16 July in Athens / 10 June – 17 September in Kassel
Learning from Athens

Artistic Director

Adam Szymczyk

Venues Athens

Athens Conservatoire (Odeion); Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA); National Museum of Contemporary Art (EMST); Benaki Museum: Pireos Street Annexe, Museum of Islamic Art and Nikos Hadjikyriakos-Ghika Gallery; Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall; Parko Eleftherias, Athens Municipality Art Center and Museum of Anti-dictatorial and Democratic Resistance; National Archaeological Museum; Epigraphic Museum and 36 other locations and public spaces in Athens and Piraeus.

Visitors Athens

339.000

Visitors Kassel

891.500

Venues Kassel

Former underground train station (Kulturbahnhof); Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost); Fridericianum; documenta Halle; Neue Galerie; Palais Bellevue; Orangerie; Museum of Natural History in the Ottoneum; Grimmwelt; Museum of Sepulchral Culture; Hessisches Landesmuseum; Stadtmuseum Kassel; Gießhaus; Gottschalk Halle; Kulturforum Schlachthof; Nordstadt-Park; Henschel Hallen and 18 other locations and public spaces in Kassel.

Artists

163

Historical positions

103

Budget

47.300.000 euros incl. Athens

Website

documenta14.de

Evaluation

Als PDF herunterladen

Banu Cennetoğlu, BEINGSAFEISSCARY (2017)
Photo: Roman März


Ibrahim Mahama, Performance Check Point Prosfygika. 1934-2034. 2016-2017. (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

documenta 14 took up the cause of decentralizing and decolonizing the northwestern canon. In October 14, the artistic director, Adam Szymczyk, announced his concept, for which he was chosen by the Selection Committee about a year previously. According to the concept, the fourteenth documenta would take place in equal parts in Kassel and Athens under the motto “Learning from Athens” with the exhibition in Athens opening two months before the exhibition in Kassel and each running for 100 days. All of the participating artists were to exhibit at both locations, though not necessarily the same works. The announcement sparked fierce controversy. In Kassel, some parties were worried that the documenta, which at the end of the day is an economic factor that has to be taken seriously, might become a traveling exhibition. Nor did the announcement of the major event from Germany receive only positive feedback in Athens, which had been strained heavily first by the financial crisis and then by the absorption of a large number of refugees. documenta was criticized among other things for neocolonial behavior, promoting crisis tourism, and not incorporating the local scene sufficiently. At the same time the five-year plan of documenta gGmbH, according to which the budget of a respective documenta is based on that of the previous one, and thus only for one site, namely Kassel, took the institution to its limits both logistically and financially due to the two locations.

But the need to rethink the Eurocentric perspective of the large exhibition had long been addressed, starting with Catherine David’s “100 Days / 100 Guests” for documenta 10, to Okwui Enwezor’s global platforms for documenta 11 of which the exhibition in Kassel was only the fifth, to documenta 13 under Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev in Kabul and Bamiyan, Afghanistan (alongside events in Cairo, Alexandria and Banff), featuring 25 artists.

For Adam Szymczyk and his international curatorial team (comprised of Pierre Bal-Blanc, Hendrik Folkerts, Candice Hopkins, Hila Peleg, Dieter Roelstraete and Monika Szewczyk) Athens represented the financially disadvantaged global south vis-à-vis the European north. The victim of a “neocolonial and neoliberal attitude” scarred by a “humiliating crisis stigma” (Szymczyk in his contribution to the d14 Reader) became emblematic of today’s global crises and humanitarian catastrophes, which during the preparation of documenta 14 escalated dramatically with the war in Syria.

 

Georgia Sagri, Opening of the Public Program with performance Attempt. Come. (2017)
Photo: Stathis Mamalakis

With the location Athens as an antipode to Kassel – in the sense of the “divided self” or “The Theater and Its Double” (after Antonin Artaud) – a change of perspective was to be exemplified. Rather than repeating the 100-day exhibition in Germany, documenta 14 as a “continuum of aesthetic, economic, political and social experimentation” (Szymczyk) would take place in two locations because the world could no longer be explained, commented on or narrated from a single place.   

One of the first manifestations of documenta 14 and its themes were four semi-annual special issues of the magazine South as a State of Mind, founded in 2012 by Marina Fokidis, one of the curatorial advisors of documenta 14. The first press conference, at which the radio program Every Time A Ear di Soun with over 50 participants was introduced, took place at the Berlin project space SAVVY Contemporary, whose artistic director Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung acted as a curator at large of documenta 14.

Also months before the official exhibition opening in Athens, the public program “Parliament of Bodies,” under the direction of Paul B. Preciado, explored forms of post-identitary cohabitation and political action and formed six “Open Form Societies.” It began in September 2016 with 34 “freedom exercises” at the Athens Municipality Art Center in Parko Eleftherias (which translates as “Freedom Park”). The educational program “One Experience” took place in the form of walks with members of the “Choir.”

The selection of locations in Athens primarily concentrated on settings for contemporary art and cultural production, such as the Athens Conservatoire Odeion (with a focus on sound art and scores), the just-finished EMST National Museum of Contemporary Art (whose collection, established in 2000, was shown at the Fridericianum in Kassel (traditionally the core of documenta), the Athens School of Fine Arts (ASFA), three buildings of the private Benaki Museum, the Archeological and Epigraphic Museums, a shut-down open-air cinema, as well as many public spaces, ancient sights and public and private buildings at which individual works were shown or concerts and performances held.

 

Marta Minujin, The Parthenon of Books (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Amar Kanwar, Such a Morning (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Hiwa K, When We Were Exhaling Images (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Otobong Nkanga, Carved to Flow (2017)
Photo: Michael Nast

Maria Eichhorn, Unlawfully Acquired Books from Jewish Ownership (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Gauri Gill, Act of Appearance (2017)
Photo: Michael Nast

In Kassel, many of the central themes of documenta 14 were concentrated in the Neue Galerie where, starting with Maria Eichhorn’s installation The Rose Valland Institute, which intended to clarify unlawful property situations in Germany with the goal of restitution of Jewish property robbed under National Socialism, an associative reference system between colonialism and slavery, complex German-Greek relationships since Johann Joachim Winkelmann, expropriation policy and gender issues was constructed.

Of more than 160 international artists (including Nevin Aladağ, Banu Cennetoğlu, Peter Friedl, Gauri Gill, Hiwa K, Amar Kanwar, Naeem Mohaiemen, Otobong Nkanga, Emeka Ogboh, and Artur Żmijewski), mainly new productions were shown at both sites. The presentation was supplemented by historical work complexes, from book art from the Jahângîr album compiled under the four Mughal emperors in the sixteenth and seventh centuries to socialist realist painting.

Another focus was on contemporary works by indigenous artists from various cultures, including masks by the Kwakw’ala artist Beau Dick and works by the Sámi Artist Group (Keviselie/Hans Ragnar Mathisen, Britta Marakatt-Labba, and Synnøve Persen) – a fact that seemed to put the Western-influenced concept of art of some critics to the test – after all, one concern of documenta 14 was the “unlearning” of assimilated aesthetic hierarchies. Overall, the press, and particularly the German-language arts sections, were almost uniformly polemical – for example, documenta 14 was reproached for being an instrumentalization of art and for having an “profound longing to be morally right” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung).

Among the major attractions were Marta Minujín’s The Parthenon of Books (2017) on Friedrichsplatz, consisting of 67,000 books that at some time in history were included in an index and that during the last days of the exhibition were distributed to visitors; Ibrahim Mahama’s gate guards draped with charcoal sacks (Check Point Sekondi Loco. 1901–2030,2016-2017 (2016-17); and Olu Oguibe’s Monument to Strangers and Refugees (2017) in the form of an obelisk with the gilded inscription “I was a stranger and you took me in” from the Book of Matthew in four languages on Königsplatz (there was the possibility of the site-specific artwork remaining in Kassel thanks to a fundraising campaign but after long squabbles its final location remains uncertain). Another politically sensitive work is 77sqm_9:26min – Report (2017) by Forensic Architecture, which in a counter investigation reviews the trial revolving around the murder of Kassel Internet café operator Halit Yozgat by the neo-Nazi group National Socialist Underground and the role of the intelligence officer Andreas Temme, who was present in Yozgat’s shop when the crime was committed.

 

Naeem Mohaiemen, Two Meetings and a Funeral (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Exhibition view with mask by Beau Dick (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Peter Friedl, Film still from the single-channel video installation Report (2017)
Photo: Peter Friedl

Nevin Aladag, Music Room (Athens) with visitors (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Artur Zmijewski, Realism (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

Synnøve Persen, Sámi Flag Project (2017)
Photo: Mathias Völzke

When documenta 14 came to an end after a total of 163 days of concerts, film screenings, readings, performances and talks in Kassel, more than one million visitors had been counted in both cities, making documenta 14 the most-visited contemporary art exhibition of all time. Since the venues in Athens were accessible free of charge or the entrance fees were allocated to the respective institution, no income was generated from the second location.

When the final farewell was said to documenta as a “unity of plot, place and time” (Szymczyk), it could – like its predecessors – hardly be grasped as an exhibition. With the doubling in two places the question arose as to whom documenta “belongs to” and whether a “world art exhibition” – on which due to its structure and financing steady growth is imposed and which had to adapt to a world that changed after the “Cold War” – is still feasible with a sole site in Kassel. The relevance of documenta 14 and its effects on subsequent documenta exhibitions can only be judged with the passage of time.

Olu Oguibe, Monument for strangers and refugees (2017)
Photo: Nils Klinger

Participating Artists

A

  • Abounaddara
  • Akinbiyi, Akinbode
  • Aladağ, Nevin
  • Andújar, Daniel García
  • Anesiadou, Danai
  • Angelidakis, Andreas
  • Antonas, Aristide
  • Araeen, Rasheed
  • Auder, Michel

B

  • Bachzetsis, Alexandra
  • Baghramian, Nairy
  • Balducci, Marie Cool Fabio
  • Baloji, Sammy
  • Basha, Arben
  • Belmore, Rebecca
  • Beqiri, Sokol
  • Bernat, Roger
  • Bidjocka, Bili
  • Bing, Wang
  • Birrell, Ross
  • Blido, Llambi
  • Bold, Nomin
  • Brăila, Pavel
  • Brătescu, Geta (1926-2018)

C

  • Cahn, Miriam
  • Campos-Pons, María Magdalena und Leonhard, Neil
  • Celmins, Vija
  • Cennetoğlu, Banu
  • Charalambous, Panos
  • Chopra, Nikhil
  • Ciudad Abierta

D

  • Daučíková, Anna
  • Davey, Moyra
  • Davids, Yael
  • Denes, Agnes
  • Diawara, Manthia
  • Dick, Beau (1955–2017)

E

  • Eichhorn, Maria
  • Eijkelboom, Hans
  • Ely, Bonita
  • Eshetu, Theo

F

  • Fofana, Aboubakar
  • Friedl, Peter

G

  • Galindo, Guillermo
  • Galindo, Regina José
  • Galván, Israel, Niño de Elche und Romero, Pedro G.
  • Gbaguidi, Pélagie
  • Georgiou, Apostolos
  • Gianikian, Yervant und Ricci Lucchi, Angela
  • Gill, Gauri
  • Gioti, Marina
  • González, Beatriz
  • Gordon, Douglas

H

  • Haacke, Hans
  • Hadzinikolaou, Constantinos
  • Haiduk, Irena
  • Haloi, Ganesh
  • Halprin, Anna
  • Harding, Dale
  • Harding, David
  • Hassabi, Maria
  • Hila, Edi
  • Hiller, Susan (1940-2019)
  • Holzapfel, Olaf
  • Hookey, Gordon

I

  • iQhiya
  • Iveković, Sanja

K

  • Kanwar, Amar
  • Karmakar, Romuald
  • Kassapis, Andreas Ragnar
  • Khalili, Bouchra
  • K, Hiwa
  • Knorr, Daniel

L

  • Ladik, Katalin
  • Lamelas, David
  • Lowe, Rick
  • Lucier, Alvin

M

  • Mahama, Ibrahim
  • Mari, Narimane
  • Mata Aho Collective
  • Mattin
  • Mekas, Jonas (1922-2019)
  • Melitopoulos, Angela
  • Ménard, Phia
  • Meredith-Vula, Lala
  • Minke, Gernot
  • Minujín, Marta
  • Mohaiemen, Naeem

N

  • Nallbani, Hasan
  • Nango, Joar
  • Nashashibi, Rosalind und Nashashibi/Skaer
  • Negros Tou Moria
  • Nkanga, Otobong
  • Noël, Kettly

O

  • Ogboh, Emeka
  • Oguibe, Olu
  • Oldendorf, Rainer
  • Oliveros, Pauline (1932–2016)
  • Orellana Mejía, Joaquín

P

  • Papoulias, Christos
  • Paravel, Véréna und Castaing-Taylor, Lucien
  • Patterson, Benjamin (1934–2016)
  • Peterman, Dan
  • Plessas, Angelo
  • Pohio, Nathan
  • Pope.L
  • Postcommodity
  • Prinz Gholam

Q

  • Quaytman, R. H.

R

  • Richter, Gerhard
  • Rodríguez, Abel
  • Rosen, Roee
  • Rose, Tracey
  • Rukh, Lala (1948–2017)
  • Rungjang, Arin
  • Russell, Ben

S

  • Sagri, Georgia
  • Sámi Artist Group (Keviselie/Hans Ragnar Mathisen, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Synnøve Persen)
  • Samnang, Khvay
  • Sara, Máret Ánne
  • Scheirl, Ashley Hans
  • Schultz, Marilou
  • Schutter, David
  • Šeškus, Algirdas
  • Sheikh, Nilima
  • Shibli, Ahlam
  • Shoshi, Zef
  • Solh, Mounira Al
  • Sprinkle, Annie und Stephens, Beth
  • Stefani, Eva
  • Subramanyan K. G. (1924–2016)
  • Suter, Vivian
  • Sy, El Hadji

T

  • Thaemlitz, Terre
  • Tserenpil, Ariuntugs

U

  • Uklański, Piotr
  • Ullmann, Jakob

V

  • Vega Macotela, Antonio
  • Vicuña, Cecilia
  • Vigier, Annie & Apertet, Franck (les gens d’Uterpan)

W

  • Weinberger, Lois
  • Whitney, Stanley
  • Wild, Elisabeth
  • Wolf-Rehfeldt, Ruth
  • Wüst, Ulrich

X

  • Xagoraris, Zafos

Z

  • Zevallos, Sergio
  • Żmijewski, Artur
  • Zygouri, Mary

Historical Positions

A

  • Abedin, Zainul (1914–1976)
  • Antonakos, Stephen (1926–2013)
  • Avraamov, Arseny (1886–1944)

B

  • Barlach, Ernst (1870–1938)
  • Baudet, Étienne (ca. 1638–1711)
  • Beckett, Samuel (1906–1989)
  • Boas, Franz (1858–1942)
  • Bode, Arnold (1900–1977)
  • Böttner, Lorenza (1959–1994)
  • Broodthaers, Marcel (1924–1976)
  • Burckhardt, Lucius (1925–2003)
  • Buza, Abdurrahim (1905–1986)

C

  • Caniaris, Vlassis (1928–2011)
  • Capo, Sotir (1934–2012)
  • Cardew, Cornelius (1936–1981)
  • Carrión, Ulises (1941–1989)
  • Çavdarbasha, Agim (1944–1999)
  • Chittaprosad(1915–1978)
  • Christou, Jani (1926–1970)
  • Chryssa(1933–2013)
  • Colombier, André du (1952–2003)
  • Courbet, Gustave (1819–1877)

D

  • D’Arcangelo, Christopher (1955–1979)
  • Davou, Bia (1932–1996)
  • Deren, Maya (1917–1961)
  • Despotopoulos, Ioannis (1903–1992)
  • Dick, Thomas (1877–1927)

E

  • Echtermeier, Carl Friedrich (1845–1910)
  • Ender, Maria (1897–1942)

F

  • Farrokhzad, Forough (1935–1967)
  • Felixmüller, Conrad (1897–1977)
  • Filonov, Pavel (1883–1941)

G

  • Giovanni, Giovanni di ser Guidi(1406–1486)
  • Gotovac, Tomislav (1937–2010)
  • Grimm, Jacob und Wilhelm (1785–1863, 1786–1859)
  • Grimm, Ludwig Emil (1790–1863)
  • Gurlitt, Cornelia (1890–1919)
  • Gurlitt, Louis (1812–1897)

H

  • Hadjikyriakos-Ghika, Nikos (1906–1994)
  • Hansen, Oskar (1922–2005)
  • Hémon, Sedje (1923–2011)
  • Heuss, Theodor (1884–1963)
  • Hofer, Karl (1878–1955)
  • Hotere, Ralph (1931–2013)

J

  • Jaern, Albert (1893–1949)
  • Jåks, Iver (1932–2007)
  • Janah, Sunil (1918–2012)

K

  • Kalderach, Alexander (1880–1965)
  • Kanda Matulu, Tshibumba (1947–1981 verschwunden)
  • Klenze, Leo von (1784–1864)
  • Kodheli, Kel (1918–2006)
  • Kolitz, Louis (1845–1914)
  • Kristo, Spiro (1936–2011)
  • KSYME-CMRC (gegründet 1979)

L

  • Lācis, Anna “Asja” (1891–1979)
  • Lai, Maria (1919–2013)
  • Laloy, Yves (1920–1999)
  • Lamakh, Valery Pavlovich (1925–1978)
  • Lappas, George (1950–2016)
  • Leyhausen, Karl (1899–1931)
  • Liebermann, Max (1847–1935)

M

  • Maciunas, George (1931–1978)
  • Mancoba, Ernest (1904–2002)
  • Masotta, Oscar (1930–1979)
  • Matjuschin, Michail (1861–1934)
  • Mele, Pandi (1939–2015)
  • Modotti, Tina (1896–1942)
  • Mukherjee, Benode Behari (1904–1980)

N

  • Niemczyk, Krzysztof (1938–1994)

P

  • Peries, Ivan (1921–1988)
  • Perlov, David (1930–2003)
  • Pierre, André (1915–2005)
  • Pietro Gerini, Niccolò di (1340–1414)
  • Pikionis, Dimitris (1887–1968)
  • Prigow, Dmitri (1940–2007)

R

  • Reçi, Hasan (1914–1980)
  • Richter, W.
  • Robertson, Anne Charlotte (1949–2012)
  • Rosenstein, Erna (1913–2004)

S

  • Schlegel, August Wilhelm und Friedrich (1767–1845, 1772–1829)
  • Schulz, Bruno (1892–1942)
  • Scratch Orchestra(1969–1974)
  • Seidmann-Freud, Tom (1892–1930)
  • Sekula, Allan (1951–2013)
  • Sharav, Baldugiin (1869–1939)
  • Sher-Gil, Amrita (1913–1941)
  • Sidur, Wadim (1924–1986)
  • Spies, August (1855–1887)
  • Stamo, Foto (1916–1989)
  • Strazimiri, Gani (1915–1993)
  • Strzemiński, Władysław (1893–1952)
  • Szapocznikow, Alina (1926–1973)

T

  • Tsarouchis, Yannis (1910–1989)

V

  • Vidal, Antonio (1928–2013)

W

  • Weisgerber, Albert (1878–1915)
  • Wendt, Lionel (1900–1944)
  • Winckelmann, Johann Joachim (1717–1768)
  • Winter, Fritz (1905–1976)
  • Wright, Basil (1907–1987)
  • Wróblewski, Andrzej (1927–1957)
  • Wyschnegradsky, Iwan (1893–1979)

X

  • Xenakis, Iannis (1922–2001)

Z

  • Zengo Antoniu, Androniqi (1913–2000)
  • Zucca, Pierre (1943–1995)

Artistic Director
Adam Szymczyk

Adam Szymczyk was Artistic Director of documenta 14 in Kassel and Athens in 2017. In 1997, he co-founded the Foksal Gallery Foundation in Warsaw. He was Director at Kunsthalle Basel from 2004 to 2014. In 2008, he co-curated with Elena Filipovic the 5th Berlin Biennial for Contemporary Art, When Things Cast No Shadow. He is a Member of the Board of the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and Member of the Advisory Committee of Kontakt. Art Collection of Erste Group and ERSTE Foundation in Vienna. In 2011, he received the Walter Hopps Award for Curatorial Achievement at the Menil Foundation in Houston.

Documenta 14
8. April bis 17. September 2017
8. April bis 16. Juli in Athen / 10. Juni bis 17. September in Kassel
Von Athen lernen

Künstlerischer Leiter

Adam Szymczyk

Orte Athen

Athener Konservatorium (Odeion); Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA); Nationales Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst (EMST); Benaki Museum—Annex Pireos-Strasse; Museum für Islamische Kunst und Nikos Hadjikyriakos-Ghika Galerie; Athener Konzerthalle Megaron; Parko Eleftherias, Städtisches Kunstzentrum Athen und Museum des Demokratischen Widerstands gegen die Diktatur; Archäologisches Nationalmuseum; Epigraphisches Museum sowie 36 weitere Orte und öffentliche Plätze in Athen und Piräus.

Besucher Athen

339.000

Besucher Kassel

891.500

Orte Kassel

Ehemaliger unterirdischer Bahnhof (Kulturbahnhof); Neue Neue Galerie (Neue Hauptpost); Fridericianum; documenta Halle; Neue Galerie; Palais Bellevue; Westpavillon (Orangerie); Naturkundemuseum in Ottoneum; Grimmwelt; Museum für Sepulkralkultur; Hessisches Landesmuseum; Stadtmuseum Kassel; Gießhaus (Universität Kassel); Gottschalk-Halle (Universität Kassel); Kulturzentrum Schlachthof; Nordstadtpark; Henschel-Hallen sowie 18 weitere Orte und öffentliche Plätze in Kassel.

Künstler_innen

163

Historische Positionen

103

Budget

47.300.000 Euro inkl. Athen

Website

documenta14.de

Evaluation

Als PDF herunterladen

Banu Cennetoğlu, BEINGSAFEISSCARY (2017)
Foto: Roman März


Ibrahim Mahama, Performance Check Point Prosfygika. 1934–2034. 2016–2017. (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Die documenta 14 hatte sich eine Dezentralisierung und Dekolonisation des nordwestlichen Kanons auf die Fahne geschrieben. Im Oktober 2014 gab der künstlerische Leiter Adam Szymczyk sein Konzept bekannt, auf dessen Grundlage er knapp ein Jahr zuvor von der Findungskommission gewählt worden war. Es sah vor, die vierzehnte documenta unter dem Motto „Von Athen lernen“ zu gleichen Teilen in Kassel und in Athen stattfinden zu lassen – wobei die Ausstellung in Athen zwei Monate vor Kassel eröffnen sollte und beide jeweils eine Laufzeit von 100 Tagen hatten. Alle Beteiligten Künstler_innen sollten an beiden Orten ausstellen, wenn auch nicht notwendigerweise mit denselben Arbeiten. Die Bekanntgabe löste heftige Kontroversen aus. In Kassel befürchteten einige Parteien, dass die documenta, die ja nicht zuletzt auch ein ernst zu nehmender Wirtschaftsfaktor ist, zu einer Wanderausstellung werden könnte. Und auch in dem erst von der Finanzkrise und dann durch die Aufnahme einer großen Zahl von Geflüchteten stark beanspruchten Athen traf die Ankündigung des Großereignisses aus Deutschland nicht nur auf positives Feedback. Der documenta wurde unter anderem neokoloniales Verhalten, Krisentourismus und zu wenig Einbeziehung der lokalen Szene vorgeworfen. Gleichzeitig brachte der jeweils auf Grundlage des Budgets der vorangegangenen documenta erstellte Fünfjahresfinanzplan der documenta gGmbH, der nur ein Budget für eine Stadt, nämlich Kassel, vorsah, mit der Verdoppelung der Standorte die Institution logistisch wie finanziell an ihre Grenzen.

Dabei hatte sich die Notwendigkeit, die eurozentrische Perspektive der internationalen Großausstellung zu überdenken, bereits lange angekündigt – angefangen von Catherine Davids „100 Tage / 100 Gäste“ der documenta 10 über Okwui Enwezors globale Plattformen für die documenta 11, von denen die Ausstellung in Kassel lediglich die fünfte darstellte, zu der von der documenta 13 unter Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev (neben Veranstaltungen in Kairo, Alexandria und Banff) in Kabul und Bamiyan, Afghanistan, organisierten Ausstellung mit 25 teilnehmenden Künstler_innen.

Für Adam Szymczyk und sein internationales Kurator_innen-Team (Pierre Bal-Blanc, Hendrik Folkerts, Candice Hopkins, Hila Peleg, Dieter Roelstraete und Monika Szewczyk) stand Athen repräsentativ für den gegenüber dem europäischen Norden finanziell benachteiligten globalen Süden. Das vom „erniedrigenden Stigma der Krise“ (Szymczyk in seinem Beitrag im d14 Reader) gezeichnete Opfer des „neokolonialen und neoliberalen Schemas“ wurde zum Sinnbild für die heutigen globalen Krisen und humanitären Katastrophen, die sich während der Vorbereitungszeit der documenta 14 mit dem Krieg in Syrien noch dramatisch zuspitzten.

 

Georgia Sagri, Eröffnung des Public Program mit Performance Attempt. Come. (2017)
Foto: Stathis Mamalakis

Mit dem Standort Athen als Antipode zu Kassel – im Sinne eines „geteilten Selbst“ oder „Theater und sein Double“ (nach Antonin Artaud) – sollte ein Perspektivwechsel exemplifiziert werden. Statt einer Wiederholung der 100-tägigen Ausstellung in Deutschland sollte die documenta 14 als ein „Kontinuum ästhetischer, ökonomischer, politischer und sozialer Experimente“ (Szymczyk) an zwei Orten stattfinden, da die Welt nicht (mehr) nur von einem einzigen Standort aus erklärt, kommentiert und erzählt werden könne.

Zu einer ersten Manifestation der documenta 14 und ihrer Themen gehörten insgesamt vier halbjährig herausgegebene Sonderausgaben des von Marina Fokidis, einer der kuratorischen Berater_innen der documenta 14, bereits 2012 in Athen gegründeten Magazins South as a State of Mind. Die erste Pressekonferenz, bei der auch das Radioprogramm Every Time A Ear di Soun mit über 50 Beteiligten vorgestellt wurde, fand im Dezember 2015 in dem Berliner Projektraum SAVVY Contemporary statt, dessen künstlerischer Leiter Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung als „Curator at Large“ der documenta 14 fungierte.

Ebenfalls Monate vor der offiziellen Ausstellungseröffnung in Athen startete das öffentliche Programm „Parlament der Körper“ unter der Leitung von Paul B. Preciado, das Formen postidentitären Zusammenlebens und politischen Handelns erprobte und dazu sechs „Offene-Form-Gesellschaften“ bildete. Es begann im September 2016 mit 34 „Freiheitsübungen“ im Städtischen Kunstzentrum Athen im Parko Eleftherias (Freiheitspark). Das Vermittlungsprogramm „Eine Erfahrung“ fand in Form von Spaziergängen mit Mitgliedern des „Chors“ statt.

Die Auswahl der Orte in Athen konzentrierte sich vor allem auf Schauplätze der zeitgenössischen Kunst und Kulturproduktion, wie das Athener Konservatorium (Odeion) (mit einem Fokus auf Klangkunst und Partituren), das eben fertiggestellte Nationale Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst EMST (dessen seit 2000 bestehende Sammlung im Gegenzug erstmals im Fridericianum in Kassel, dem traditionellen Herzstück der documenta, gezeigt wurde), die Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Athen (ASFA) , drei Gebäude des privaten Benaki Museums, das Archäologische und das Epigraphische Museum, ein stillgelegtes Open Air Kino sowie viele weitere öffentliche Plätze, antike Sehenswürdigkeiten und öffentliche wie private Gebäude, an denen einzelne Arbeiten gezeigt wurden oder Konzerte und Performances stattfanden.

 

Marta Minujin, The Parthenon of Books (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Amar Kanwar, Such a Morning (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Hiwa K, When We Were Exhaling Images (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Otobong Nkanga, Carved to Flow (2017)
Foto: Michael Nast

Maria Eichhorn, Unrechtmäßig aus jüdischem Eigentum erworbene Bücher (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Gauri Gill, Act of Appearance (2017)
Foto: Michael Nast

In Kassel konzentrierten sich viele der Leitgedanken der documenta 14 in der Neuen Galerie, wo beginnend mit Maria Eichhorns Installation des Rose Valland Institut zur Klärung unrechtmäßiger Besitzverhältnisse in Deutschland mit dem Ziel der Restitution von unter dem Nationalsozialismus geraubten jüdischem Besitztum ein assoziatives Bezugssystem zwischen Kolonialismus und Sklaverei, den komplexen deutsch-griechischen Beziehungen seit Johann Joachim Winkelmann, Enteignungspolitik und Genderfragen konstruiert wurde.

Von über 160 internationalen Künstler_innen (darunter Nevin Aladağ, Banu Cennetoğlu, Peter Friedl, Gauri Gill, Hiwa K, Amar Kanwar, Naeem Mohaiemen, Otobong Nkanga, Emeka Ogboh, Artur Żmijewski) wurden an beiden Standorten großenteils Neuproduktionen gezeigt. Ergänzt wurde die Präsentation durch historische Werkkomplexe, von Buchkunst aus dem im 16./17. Jahrhundert unter dem vierten Mogulkaiser zusammengestellten Jahângîr-Album zur Malerei des sozialistischen Realismus.

Einen Schwerpunkt bildeten zudem zeitgenössische Arbeiten indigener Künstler_innen aus verschiedenen Kulturkreisen, etwa Masken des Kwakw’ala Künstlers Beau Dick oder Werke der Sámi Artist Group (Keviselie/Hans Ragnar Mathisen, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Synnøve Persen) – eine Tatsache, die den westlich-geprägten Kunstbegriff einiger Kritiker_innen auf die Probe zu stellen schien – nicht zuletzt war ein Anliegen der documenta 14 das „Verlernen“ einverleibter ästhetischer Hierarchien. Insgesamt war die Presse gerade von Seiten des deutschsprachigen Feuilletons beinahe einheitlich polemisch – so wurde der documenta 14 etwa Instrumentalisierung der Kunst sowie „eine abgrundtiefe Sehnsucht, moralisch richtig zu liegen“ (FAZ) vorgeworfen.

Publikumsmagnete waren unter anderem Marta Minujíns The Parthenon of Books (2017) auf dem Friedrichsplatz, bekleidet mit 67.000 Büchern, die jemals auf einem Index gestanden hatten, und die dann während der letzten Ausstellungstage an Besucher_innen verteilt wurden; Ibrahim Mahamas mit Kohlesäcken verhängte Torwachen (Check Point Sekondi Loco. 1901–2030. 2016-2017 (2016-17), oder Olu Oguibes Das Fremdlinge und Flüchtlinge Monument (2017) in Form eines Obelisken mit der vergoldeten Inschrift „Ich war ein Fremdling und ihr habt mich aufgenommen“ aus dem Matthäusevangelium in vier Sprachen auf dem Königsplatz (ein möglicher Verbleib des ortsspezifischen Kunstwerks in Kassel durch Ankauf mittels einer Spendenaktion ist nach langen Querelen um seinen endgültigen Standort noch ungewiss). Ebenfalls von politischer Brisanz war insbesondere die Arbeit 77sqm_9:26min – Report (2017) von Forensic Architecture, die in einer Gegenuntersuchung den Prozess um den Mord an dem Kassler Internetcafé-Betreiber Halit Yozgat durch den Nationalistischen Untergrund und die Beteiligung des zur Tatzeit anwesenden Verfassungsschützers Andreas Temme wieder aufrollte.

 

Naeem Mohaiemen, Two Meetings and a Funeral (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Beau Dick, Ausstellungsansicht mit Maske (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Peter Friedl, Filmstill aus der Einkanal-Videoinstallation Report (2017)

Nevin Aladag, Music Room (Athens) mit Besucher/innen (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Artur Zmijewski, Realism (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Synnøve Persen, Sámi Flag Project (2017)
Foto: Mathias Völzke

Als die documenta 14 nach insgesamt 163 Tagen mit Konzerten, Filmvorführungen, Lesungen, Performances und Gesprächen in Kassel zu Ende ging, konnten mehr als eine Million Besucher_innen in beiden Städten gezählt werden. Das macht die documenta 14 zur meistbesuchten Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst aller Zeiten. In Athen verzeichneten die verschiedenen Ausstellungsorte 339.000 Besuche. Da die Ausstellungsorte in Athen frei zugänglich waren oder die Eintrittsgelder den jeweiligen Institutionen zukamen, wurden aus dem zweiten Standort keine Erträge generiert.

Mit der endgültigen Verabschiedung der documenta als „Einheit von Handlung, Ort und Zeit“ (Szymczyk) war sie – wie schon ihre Vorgängerinnen – als Ausstellung kaum noch fassbar. Mit ihrer Verdoppelung auf zwei Schauplätze wurde die Frage aufgeworfen, wem die documenta „gehört“, und ob eine „Weltkunstausstellung“ – der durch ihre Struktur und Finanzierung stetiges Wachstum auferlegt wird und die sich einer nach dem „Kalten Krieg“ global veränderten Welt anpassen musste – mit alleinigem Standort in Kassel heute noch machbar ist. Die Relevanz der documenta 14 und ihre Auswirkungen auf folgende documenta Ausstellungen wird sich wohl erst mit zeitlichem Abstand beurteilen lassen.

 

Olu Oguibe, Fremdlinge und Flüchtlinge Monument (2017)
Foto: Nils Klinger

 

 

 

Teilnehmende Künstler

A

  • Abounaddara
  • Akinbiyi, Akinbode
  • Aladağ, Nevin
  • Andújar, Daniel García
  • Anesiadou, Danai
  • Angelidakis, Andreas
  • Antonas, Aristide
  • Araeen, Rasheed
  • Auder, Michel

B

  • Bachzetsis, Alexandra
  • Baghramian, Nairy
  • Balducci, Marie Cool Fabio
  • Baloji, Sammy
  • Basha, Arben
  • Belmore, Rebecca
  • Beqiri, Sokol
  • Bernat, Roger
  • Bidjocka, Bili
  • Bing, Wang
  • Birrell, Ross
  • Blido, Llambi
  • Bold, Nomin
  • Brăila, Pavel
  • Brătescu, Geta (1926-2018)

C

  • Cahn, Miriam
  • Campos-Pons, María Magdalena und Leonhard, Neil
  • Celmins, Vija
  • Cennetoğlu, Banu
  • Charalambous, Panos
  • Chopra, Nikhil
  • Ciudad Abierta

D

  • Daučíková, Anna
  • Davey, Moyra
  • Davids, Yael
  • Denes, Agnes
  • Diawara, Manthia
  • Dick, Beau (1955–2017)

E

  • Eichhorn, Maria
  • Eijkelboom, Hans
  • Šeškus, Algirdas
  • Ely, Bonita
  • Eshetu, Theo

F

  • Fofana, Aboubakar
  • Friedl, Peter

G

  • Galindo, Guillermo
  • Galindo, Regina José
  • Galván, Israel, Niño de Elche und Romero, Pedro G.
  • Gbaguidi, Pélagie
  • Georgiou, Apostolos
  • Gianikian, Yervant und Ricci Lucchi, Angela
  • Gill, Gauri
  • Gioti, Marina
  • González, Beatriz
  • Gordon, Douglas

H

  • Haacke, Hans
  • Hadzinikolaou, Constantinos
  • Haiduk, Irena
  • Haloi, Ganesh
  • Halprin, Anna
  • Harding, Dale
  • Harding, David
  • Hassabi, Maria
  • Hila, Edi
  • Hiller, Susan (1940-2019)
  • Holzapfel, Olaf
  • Hookey, Gordon

I

  • iQhiya
  • Iveković, Sanja

K

  • Kanwar, Amar
  • Karmakar, Romuald
  • Kassapis, Andreas Ragnar
  • Khalili, Bouchra
  • K, Hiwa
  • Knorr, Daniel

L

  • Ladik, Katalin
  • Lamelas, David
  • Lowe, Rick
  • Lucier, Alvin

M

  • Mahama, Ibrahim
  • Mari, Narimane
  • Mata Aho Collective
  • Mattin
  • Mekas, Jonas (1922-2019)
  • Melitopoulos, Angela
  • Meredith-Vula, Lala
  • Żmijewski, Artur
  • Minke, Gernot
  • Minujín, Marta
  • Ménard, Phia
  • Mohaiemen, Naeem

N

  • Nallbani, Hasan
  • Nango, Joar
  • Nashashibi, Rosalind und Nashashibi/Skaer
  • Negros Tou Moria
  • Nkanga, Otobong
  • Noël, Kettly

O

  • Ogboh, Emeka
  • Oguibe, Olu
  • Oldendorf, Rainer
  • Oliveros, Pauline (1932–2016)
  • Orellana Mejía, Joaquín

P

  • Papoulias, Christos
  • Paravel, Véréna und Castaing-Taylor, Lucien
  • Patterson, Benjamin (1934–2016)
  • Peterman, Dan
  • Plessas, Angelo
  • Pohio, Nathan
  • Pope.L
  • Postcommodity
  • Prinz Gholam

Q

  • Quaytman, R. H.

R

  • Richter, Gerhard
  • Rodríguez, Abel
  • Rosen, Roee
  • Rose, Tracey
  • Rukh, Lala (1948–2017)
  • Rungjang, Arin
  • Russell, Ben

S

  • Sagri, Georgia
  • Samnang, Khvay
  • Sara, Máret Ánne
  • Scheirl, Ashley Hans
  • Schultz, Marilou
  • Schutter, David
  • Sheikh, Nilima
  • Shibli, Ahlam
  • Shoshi, Zef
  • Sámi Artist Group (Keviselie/Hans Ragnar Mathisen, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Synnøve Persen)
  • Solh, Mounira Al
  • Sprinkle, Annie und Stephens, Beth
  • Stefani, Eva
  • Subramanyan K. G. (1924–2016)
  • Suter, Vivian
  • Sy, El Hadji

T

  • Thaemlitz, Terre
  • Tserenpil, Ariuntugs

U

  • Uklański, Piotr
  • Ullmann, Jakob

V

  • Vega Macotela, Antonio
  • Vicuña, Cecilia
  • Vigier, Annie & Apertet, Franck (les gens d’Uterpan)

W

  • Weinberger, Lois
  • Whitney, Stanley
  • Wild, Elisabeth
  • Wolf-Rehfeldt, Ruth
  • Wüst, Ulrich

X

  • Xagoraris, Zafos

Z

  • Zevallos, Sergio
  • Zygouri, Mary

Historische Positionen

A

  • Abedin, Zainul (1914–1976)
  • Antonakos, Stephen (1926–2013)
  • Çavdarbasha, Agim (1944–1999)
  • Avraamov, Arseny (1886–1944)

B

  • Barlach, Ernst (1870–1938)
  • Baudet, Étienne (ca. 1638–1711)
  • Beckett, Samuel (1906–1989)
  • Boas, Franz (1858–1942)
  • Bode, Arnold (1900–1977)
  • Broodthaers, Marcel (1924–1976)
  • Böttner, Lorenza (1959–1994)
  • Burckhardt, Lucius (1925–2003)
  • Buza, Abdurrahim (1905–1986)

C

  • Caniaris, Vlassis (1928–2011)
  • Capo, Sotir (1934–2012)
  • Cardew, Cornelius (1936–1981)
  • Carrión, Ulises (1941–1989)
  • Chittaprosad(1915–1978)
  • Christou, Jani (1926–1970)
  • Chryssa(1933–2013)
  • Colombier, André du (1952–2003)
  • Courbet, Gustave (1819–1877)

D

  • D’Arcangelo, Christopher (1955–1979)
  • Davou, Bia (1932–1996)
  • Deren, Maya (1917–1961)
  • Despotopoulos, Ioannis (1903–1992)
  • Dick, Thomas (1877–1927)

E

  • Echtermeier, Carl Friedrich (1845–1910)
  • Ender, Maria (1897–1942)

F

  • Farrokhzad, Forough (1935–1967)
  • Felixmüller, Conrad (1897–1977)
  • Filonov, Pavel (1883–1941)

G

  • Giovanni, Giovanni di ser Guidi(1406–1486)
  • Gotovac, Tomislav (1937–2010)
  • Grimm, Jacob und Wilhelm (1785–1863, 1786–1859)
  • Grimm, Ludwig Emil (1790–1863)
  • Gurlitt, Cornelia (1890–1919)
  • Gurlitt, Louis (1812–1897)

H

  • Hadjikyriakos-Ghika, Nikos (1906–1994)
  • Hansen, Oskar (1922–2005)
  • Heuss, Theodor (1884–1963)
  • Hémon, Sedje (1923–2011)
  • Hofer, Karl (1878–1955)
  • Hotere, Ralph (1931–2013)

J

  • Jaern, Albert (1893–1949)
  • Janah, Sunil (1918–2012)
  • Jåks, Iver (1932–2007)

K

  • Kalderach, Alexander (1880–1965)
  • Kanda Matulu, Tshibumba (1947–1981 verschwunden)
  • Klenze, Leo von (1784–1864)
  • Kodheli, Kel (1918–2006)
  • Kolitz, Louis (1845–1914)
  • Kristo, Spiro (1936–2011)
  • KSYME-CMRC (gegründet 1979)

L

  • Lai, Maria (1919–2013)
  • Laloy, Yves (1920–1999)
  • Lamakh, Valery Pavlovich (1925–1978)
  • Lappas, George (1950–2016)
  • Lācis, Anna “Asja” (1891–1979)
  • Leyhausen, Karl (1899–1931)
  • Liebermann, Max (1847–1935)

M

  • Maciunas, George (1931–1978)
  • Mancoba, Ernest (1904–2002)
  • Masotta, Oscar (1930–1979)
  • Matjuschin, Michail (1861–1934)
  • Mele, Pandi (1939–2015)
  • Modotti, Tina (1896–1942)
  • Mukherjee, Benode Behari (1904–1980)

N

  • Niemczyk, Krzysztof (1938–1994)

P

  • Peries, Ivan (1921–1988)
  • Perlov, David (1930–2003)
  • Pierre, André (1915–2005)
  • Pietro Gerini, Niccolò di (1340–1414)
  • Pikionis, Dimitris (1887–1968)
  • Prigow, Dmitri (1940–2007)

R

  • Reçi, Hasan (1914–1980)
  • Richter, W.
  • Robertson, Anne Charlotte (1949–2012)
  • Rosenstein, Erna (1913–2004)

S

  • Schlegel, August Wilhelm und Friedrich (1767–1845, 1772–1829)
  • Schulz, Bruno (1892–1942)
  • Scratch Orchestra(1969–1974)
  • Seidmann-Freud, Tom (1892–1930)
  • Sekula, Allan (1951–2013)
  • Sharav, Baldugiin (1869–1939)
  • Sher-Gil, Amrita (1913–1941)
  • Sidur, Wadim (1924–1986)
  • Spies, August (1855–1887)
  • Stamo, Foto (1916–1989)
  • Strazimiri, Gani (1915–1993)
  • Strzemiński, Władysław (1893–1952)
  • Szapocznikow, Alina (1926–1973)

T

  • Tsarouchis, Yannis (1910–1989)

V

  • Vidal, Antonio (1928–2013)

W

  • Weisgerber, Albert (1878–1915)
  • Wendt, Lionel (1900–1944)
  • Winckelmann, Johann Joachim (1717–1768)
  • Winter, Fritz (1905–1976)
  • Wróblewski, Andrzej (1927–1957)
  • Wright, Basil (1907–1987)
  • Wyschnegradsky, Iwan (1893–1979)

X

  • Xenakis, Iannis (1922–2001)

Z

  • Zengo Antoniu, Androniqi (1913–2000)
  • Zucca, Pierre (1943–1995)

Künstlerischer Leiter
Adam Szymczyk

Adam Szymczyk war Künstlerischer Leiter der documenta 14 in Kassel und Athen in 2017. 1997 war er Mitbegründer der Foksal Gallery Foundation in Warschau. Von 2004 bis 2014 war er Direktor der Kunsthalle Basel. 2008 co-kuratierte er mit Elena Filipovic die 5. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, When things cast no shadow. Er ist Vorstandsmitglied des Museum of Modern Art in Warschau und Mitglied des Beratungsausschusses “Member of the Advisory Committee of Kontakt“. Die Kunstsammlung der Erste Group und ERSTE Stiftung, Wien. 2011 erhielt er den Walter Hopps Award for Curatorial Achievement der Menil Foundation in Houston.