documenta gGmbH


documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH is a non-profit organization supported and funded by the City of Kassel and the State of Hesse, as well as by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.


In 1955, the Kassel painter and academy professor Arnold Bode endeavored to bring Germany back into dialogue with the rest of the world after the end of World War II, and to connect the international art scene through a “presentation of twentieth century art.” He founded the “Society of Western Art of the 20th Century” in order to present art that had been deemed by the Nazis as degenerate as well as works from classical modernity that had never been seen in Germany in the destroyed Museum Fridericianum. The first documenta was a retrospective of works from major movements (Fauvism, Expressionism, Cubism, the Blaue Reiter, Futurism) and brilliant individualists such as Pablo Picasso, Max Ernst, Hans Arp, Henri Matisse, Wassily Kandinsky, and Henry Moore. In this journey through the art of the first fifty years of the century, German founders of modern art such as Paul Klee, Oskar Schlemmer, or Max Beckmann were presented alongside classics of modernism.


An enormous hunger to compensate for the lack of information about international tendencies in art motivated 130,000 visitors to come to Kassel for the exhibition, which acted as both a survey and a forum for contemporary art. Encouraged by this unexpected success, Bode planned a second exhibition in 1959, thus establishing the exhibition cycle of documenta. Since 1959, the exhibition has been organized by a limited liability company with the City of Kassel and State of Hesse as shareholders. Arnold Bode led the exhibition up until documenta 4 in 1968, in cooperation with such renowned art historians such as Werner Haftmann, Will Grohmann, Werner Schmalenbach, and Max Imdahl. documenta increasingly became a seismograph of developments in contemporary art.


A new format for the exhibition’s organization started in 1972, with Harald Szeemann appointed as “Secretary General.” On behalf of the board of documenta gGmbH, an international jury is assembled to appoint the Artistic Director for each exhibition. In 1997, Catherine David became the first woman to direct documenta. Each documenta – including documenta 14 – takes its character from the ideas and concept of its Artistic Director, and is therefore not only a forum for current trends in contemporary art, but a place where innovative and standards-setting exhibition concepts are trialed.


In each edition, documenta has played a leading role in taking the international discourse about art in new directions. Over the past decades, documenta has established itself as an institution that goes far beyond a survey of what is currently happening, inviting the attention of the international art world every five years for this "museum of 100 days." The discourse and the dynamics of the discussion surrounding each documenta reflects and challenges the expectations of society about art.

Fridericianum

Photo © Nils Klinger


The Fridericianum was founded in 1779 as one of the first public museums in the world. Since 1988 it has been an internationally renowned art gallery. A broad spectrum of contemporary art, from new discoveries to more established works, is displayed in over 2,000 square meters of exhibition space. Moritz Wesseler has been director of the Fridericianum since November 2018, following Veit Loers (1987–1995), René Block (1997–2006), Rein Wolfs (2008–2013) and Susanne Pfeffer (2013–2017). His program focuses on artists who have not yet been offered an institutional platform in Germany as well as historical works worthy of rediscovery. The program kicked off in June 2019 with solo presentations by Lucas Arruda and Ron Nagle. These were followed in October 2019 by a comprehensive exhibition of the work of Rachel Rose and in February 2020 by the first and largest European retrospective in over thirty years on the life and work of Forrest Bess.


The exhibitions are accompanied by an extensive education and mediation program, the content of which is closely related to each show. These programs are individually tailored for different age and interest groups and appeal to both a wide audience and art professionals.


Alongside this programming, a multifaceted lineup of events makes the Fridericianum a lively place of exchange on contemporary cultural production. As part of the “FF – Live at the Fridericianum” series, the museum regularly invites international artists to create live events using varied formats, including talks, performances, and film screenings.

documenta archive / Institute


The documenta archive was founded by the City of Kassel on the initiative of Arnold Bode in 1961. Today, the archive houses a library on the art of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and maintains a collection of valuable documents, photographs, and correspondence relating to all previous documenta exhibitions, extensive press documentation, and a progressively growing media archive. The legacies of Arnold Bode, Hans Hillmann, and Harry Kramer, as well as the archival material bequeathed by Floris M. Neusüss, are now held at the documenta Archive.


The documenta archive will be officially entrusted to the documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH in a symbolic ceremony on July 15, 2015. The goal is to enhance the international significance of this unique institution and to develop it into a documenta Institute in cooperation with the University of Kassel over the course of the years to come.


The documenta Institute is being developed in a cooperation between the State of Hesse, the City of Kassel, documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH and the University of Kassel with Kunsthochschule Kassel with financial support for the building project from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. The acclaimed sociologist Prof. Dr. Heinz Bude was appointed Founding Director of the documenta Institute.


The starting point for the documenta Institute is the holdings of the documenta archiv, which is being developed into an extramural research institute. The documenta archiv was founded in 1961 by Arnold Bode and is dedicated to the archiving, documentation and scholarly processing of text and image sources on modern and contemporary art, in particular the documenta exhibitions that have taken place since 1955. In addition to the documenta documents, the holdings include extensive press, image and audiovisual media collections, a unique art library and relevant bequests and estates.


The documenta Institute will initially be founded under the umbrella of documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH and is intended to act in a cross-disciplinary manner to stimulate, conduct and further develop research related to the international exhibition business and documenta and to promote its public exposure.

documenta Halle


documenta Hall is the exhibition and event center located at Friedrichsplatz in Kassel. The building was designed and realized by the architecture firm of Jourdan & Müller (PAS) in 1992. It is now owned by the State of Hessen and managed by the documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH.


The hall offers 1,400 m² of exhibition space and about 700 m² of additional space for offices, a depository, and a dining area. It is made available for use by the organizers of each documenta exhibition every five years. At other times, documenta Hall is used for events of all kinds—from congresses and conferences to presentations and lectures to evening events and activities.


www.documentahalle.de

International Friends of documenta


International Friends of documenta is a group composed of patrons of art in the traditional sense. It brings together people from all over the world who are devoted to promoting contemporary art at the international level and realizing the objectives and values of documenta. Their efforts are focused on supporting and assisting the artistic directors who radically redefine and realize each successive exhibition.


International Friends of documenta regards itself as a supporting network whose members meet regularly on various occasions and follow the progress of planning for each upcoming documenta exhibition. Members are invited to participate by the documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH.

documenta gGmbH


Die documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH ist eine gemeinnützige Gesellschaft, die von der Stadt Kassel und dem Land Hessen als Gesellschafter getragen und finanziert und zudem durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes finanziell unterstützt wird.


Der Kasseler Maler und Akademieprofessor Arnold Bode versuchte 1955, durch eine „Präsentation der Kunst des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts” Deutschland nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges wieder in einen Dialog mit der Welt zu bringen und in das internationale Kunstgeschehen einzubeziehen. Mit Hilfe der von ihm gegründeten „Gesellschaft Abendländischer Kunst des XX. Jahrhunderts e. V.” präsentierte er im zerstörten Museum Fridericianum die von den Nationalsozialisten als entartet diffamierte und bis dahin in Deutschland so nie gezeigte klassische Moderne. Die erste documenta war eine Retrospektive mit Arbeiten aller bedeutenden Gruppierungen (Fauvismus, Expressionismus, Kubismus, Blauer Reiter, Futurismus) und genialer Einzelgänger wie Pablo Picasso, Max Ernst, Hans Arp, Henri Matisse, Wassily Kandinsky oder Henry Moore. In diesem Durchgang durch die Kunstgeschichte der ersten 50 Jahre des Jahrhunderts wurden neben den Klassikern der Moderne auch die deutschen Begründer der modernen Kunst wie Klee, Schlemmer oder Beckmann vorgestellt.


Ein enormer Nachholbedarf an Informationen veranlasste 130.000 Besucher, zu dieser Werkschau, die Retrospektive und auch Forum aktueller Kunst war, nach Kassel zu kommen. Durch den unerwarteten Erfolg ermutigt, plante Bode für 1959 eine zweite Ausstellung und installierte damit den Ausstellungszyklus der Kasseler documenta, die seit 1959 durch eine GmbH mit den Gesellschaftern Stadt Kassel und Land Hessen organisiert wird. Bis zur documenta 4 im Jahr 1968 leitete Arnold Bode zusammen mit renommierten Kunsthistorikern wie Werner Haftmann, Willi Grohmann, Werner Schmalenbach und Max Imdahl die Ausstellung, die immer mehr zum Seismographen aktueller Kunstentwicklungen wurde.


Mit Harald Szeemann als „Generalsekretär” begann 1972 ein neues Konzept der Ausstellungsleitung. Eine internationale Jury beruft im Auftrag des Aufsichtsrates der documenta gGmbH zu jeder Ausstellung einen neuen künstlerischen Leiter, 1997 zum ersten Mal mit Catherine David eine Ausstellungsleiterin. Jede documenta – einschließlich der documenta 14 – war geprägt von der Idee und dem persönlichen Konzept eines einzelnen Ausstellungskurators und wurde somit nicht nur ein Forum für die aktuellen Tendenzen der Gegenwartskunst, sondern auch ein Ort innovativer und Maßstäbe setzender Ausstellungskonzepte.  


Jede documenta lenkte auf ihre Art das internationale Gespräch über Kunst in neue Bahnen. Die Institution documenta hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten als ein Unternehmen etabliert, das weit über das einfache Präsentieren von dem, was es gerade gibt, hinausweist. Die Diskussionen der internationalen Kunstwelt bündeln sich alle 5 Jahren in dem Kasseler „Museum der 100 Tage”. In diesen Auseinandersetzungen und in der Dynamik der Diskussion um die jeweilige Konzeption der documenta (und um ihren künstlerischen Leiter oder ihre Leiterin) spiegeln sich die Erwartungen der Gesellschaft an Kunst wider.

Fridericianum

Foto © Nils Klinger


Das Fridericianum wurde im Jahr 1779 als eines der weltweit ersten öffentlichen Museen gegründet. Seit 1988 ist es eine international renommierte Kunsthalle. Auf über 2000 Quadratmeter Ausstellungsfläche wird ein breites Spektrum zeitgenössischer Kunst gezeigt – von Neuentdeckungen bis hin zu etablierteren Positionen. Nach Veit Loers (1987–1995), René Block (1997–2006), Rein Wolfs (2008–2013) und Susanne Pfeffer (2013–2017) hat seit November 2018 Moritz Wesseler die Leitung des Fridericianum inne. Im Fokus seines Programms stehen sowohl Künstler*innen, denen in Deutschland institutionell bislang noch keine Plattform geboten wurde, als auch historische Positionen, die es wiederzuentdecken gilt. Den Auftakt markierten dabei im Juni 2019 Einzelpräsentationen von Lucas Arruda und Ron Nagle. Auf diese folgten im Oktober 2019 eine umfangreiche Werkschau von Rachel Rose sowie im Februar 2020 die größte und seit über dreißig Jahren erste europäische Retrospektive zu Leben und Werk von Forrest Bess.


Begleitet werden die Ausstellungen von umfangreichen Bildungs- und Vermittlungsangeboten, die inhaltlich eng entlang der jeweils aktuellen Schau konzipiert sind. Sie sprechen individuell, auf verschiedene Alters- und Interessengruppen zugeschnitten, ein breites Publikum ebenso an wie Kunstexpert*innen.


Unabhängig von dieser Programmatik macht ein facettenreiches Veranstaltungsprogramm das Haus zu einem lebendigen Ort des Austauschs über zeitgenössische Kulturproduktion. So lädt das Fridericianum im Rahmen der Veranstaltungsreihe FF – Live im Fridericianum regelmäßig internationale Künstler*innen zu Gesprächen, Performances, Filmvorführungen und anderen Formaten ein.

documenta archiv / Institut


Bereits 1961 hat die Stadt Kassel auf Initiative von Arnold Bode das documenta archiv gegründet. Heute führt es eine Bibliothek zur Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts und pflegt die wertvollen Materialien, Fotos und Korrespondenzen aller bisherigen documenta Ausstellungen, eine umfangreiche Pressedokumentation und ferner ein kontinuierlich wachsendes Medienarchiv. Die Nachlässe von Arnold Bode, Hans Hillmann und Harry Kramer sowie der Vorlass von Floris M. Neusüss haben im documenta archiv ihren Bestimmungsort gefunden.


In einem symbolischen Akt erfolgt am 15. Juli 2015 die Übergabe des documenta archivs an die documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH. Die Zielsetzung dabei ist, die internationale Bedeutung dieser einzigartigen Institution zu schärfen und sie in den kommenden Jahren in Kooperation mit der Universität Kassel zu einem documenta Institut weiterzuentwickeln.


Das documenta Institut entsteht in Kooperation zwischen dem Land Hessen, der Stadt Kassel, der documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH sowie der Universität Kassel mit der Kunsthochschule unter finanzieller Beteiligung für das Bauvorhaben durch die Beauftragte für Kultur und Medien beim Bund. Als Gründungsdirektor des documenta Instituts wurde der renommierte Soziologe Prof. Dr. Heinz Bude berufen.


Ausgangspunkt für das documenta Institut sind die Bestände des documenta archivs, das zu einem außeruniversitären Forschungsinstitut weiterentwickelt wird. Das documenta archiv wurde 1961 von Arnold Bode ins Leben gerufen und widmet sich der Archivierung, Dokumentation und wissenschaftlichen Bearbeitung von Text- und Bildquellen zur modernen und zeitgenössischen Kunst, insbesondere zu den seit 1955 stattfindenden documenta Ausstellungen. Neben den documenta Unterlagen sind umfangreiche Presse-, Bild- und audiovisuelle Mediensammlungen, eine singuläre Kunstbibliothek sowie einschlägige Vor- und Nachlässe Teil des Bestandes.


Das documenta Institut wird zunächst unter dem Dach der documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH gegründet und soll die auf die documenta und das internationale Ausstellungswesen bezogene Forschung transdisziplinär anregen, betreiben, fortentwickeln sowie öffentlich sichtbar machen.

documenta Halle


Die documenta Halle ist ein Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsbau am Friedrichsplatz in Kassel, der 1992 vom Architekturbüro „Jourdan & Müller (PAS)“ entworfen und realisiert wurde. Heute ist sie im Besitz des Landes Hessen und wird von der documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH verwaltet.


Die Halle bietet 1400 m² Ausstellungsfläche und rund 700 m² sonstige Nebennutzflächen für Büros, ein Depot und einen Gastronomiebereich. Im jeweiligen documenta Jahr steht die Halle den Ausstellungsmachern zur Verfügung. Außerhalb dieser Zeit wird die documenta Halle für zahlreiche Veranstaltungen aller Art – von Kongressen und Tagungen über Präsentationen und Vortragsveranstaltungen bis hin zu Abendveranstaltungen und Events – genutzt.


www.documentahalle.de

International Friends of documenta


International Friends of documenta ist ein Kreis von Kunstfreunden, die das klassische Mäzenatentum pflegen. Er verbindet weltweit Menschen miteinander, die der zeitgenössischen Kunst auf einem internationalen Niveau fördernd verbunden sind und dabei die Ziele und Werte der documenta teilen. Die Unterstützung und Begleitung der Künstlerischen Leiter, die die jeweilige Ausstellung immer wieder radikal neu formulieren und realisieren, steht dabei im Vordergrund.


International Friends of documenta versteht sich als ein unterstützendes Netzwerk, in dem sich die Mitglieder regelmäßig zu verschiedenen Anlässen treffen und bereits den Planungsprozess der kommenden documenta Ausstellungen mitverfolgen. Die Teilnahme erfolgt auf Einladung der documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH.