Directions

Visitors’ inquiries regarding documenta 14

All inquiries from prospective visitors regarding documenta 14 can now be directed to a special e-mail address (visitors@documenta.de) or a dedicated telephone number (+49 (0)561 7072770). The visitors’ service provides answers to questions relating to all organizational matters. From ticket prices to opening hours to tour programs, prospective visitors can obtain all the information they need from this source.

Arrival by air

The nearest airports are Kassel (Kassel Airport), Frankfurt (Frankfurt Airport), Hanover (Hannover Airport) and Paderborn Lippstadt (Paderborn Airport).

From Kassel Airport: Take a taxi or bus no. 100 to downtown Kassel. An exact schedule is posted at the website of the Kasseler Verkehrsgesellschaft.

From Frankfurt Airport:
direct rail connection (ICE) to Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe
Hannover Airport: rail connection with the S-Bahn via Hanover Hauptbahnhof and ICE to Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe
Flughafen Paderborn Lippstadt: bus via Hauptbahnhof Paderborn, from there by rail (ICE) to Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe

Arrival by rail

The central railway station for arriving travelers is the ICE-Bahnhof Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe. From there, you can take the Regiotram or other regional trains (platforms 9 and 10) to the main railway station (Hauptbahhof Kassel) free of charge with your train ticket. Travel time is about 3 minutes.


Distances and travel times to Kassel Wilhelmshöhe with ICE:
Berlin 380 km / 2:33 hrs.
Hanover 164 km / 0:52 hrs.
Frankfurt, 193 km / 1:45 hrs.
Munich 482 km / 3:34 hrs.
Hamburg 307 km / 2:03 hrs.

Current rail connections and travel times are posted at the website of the Deutsche Bahn (www.bahn.de).

Arrival by car

From the north or east: A7 / exit Kassel-Nord
From the south: A49 / exit Kassel- Auestadion
From the west: A44 / switch to the A49 at the Südkreuz / exit Kassel-Auestadion


Once you have arrived in Kassel, Kassel Marketing will be happy to assist you with other travel matters and help you find and book hotel accommodations. For assistance, please contact:

Kassel Marketing GmbH
TOURIST INFORMATION INNENSTADT
Wilhelmstraße 23
34117 Kassel
T: +49 561 707707
F: +49 561 7077200
booking@kassel-marketing.de
Opening times: Monday to Saturday
10:00 to 18:00

TOURIST- & KURINFORMATION
in central railway station (ICE-Bahnhof Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe)
Opening times:
Monday to Friday
10:00 to 13:00 &
14:00 to 18:00
Saturday 10:00 to 14:00


We welcome your questions and suggestions:

documenta und
Museum Fridericianum gGmbH
Friedrichsplatz 18
34117 Kassel
Telephone +49 561 70 72 70
Fax +49 561 70 72 739
office@documenta.de

Tickets

Tickets can be purchased online via the documenta 14 webshop or at documenta 14 shops in Kassel and Athens in late spring 2017. The ticket grants access to all exhibition venues of documenta 14 in Kassel. Venues in Athens mostly have free admission. Some partner institutions charge regular entrance fees.


1-day ticket
22 € / reduced* 15 €


2-day ticket
38 € / reduced* 27 €


Season ticket
100 € / reduced* 70 €


Evening ticket
(valid from 5 pm)
10 € / reduced* 7 €


School classes
(per person)
6 €


Family ticket**
50 €


Children (age 10 and under)
Free


Visitors with disabilities and the letters B, H, BL, AG, and G on their identification cards pay the regular admission price and may take one aide with them into the exhibition free of charge.


*Upon presentation of a valid ID, the following persons are eligible for reduced admission: Students, trainees, recipients of basic social benefits (e.g. ALG II), participants in voluntary service, and visitors with disabilities (50-percent disability class) receive a discount on tickets upon presentation of the corresponding identification.


**The family ticket is valid for up to two adults with up to three children (up to the age of 16).

Walks

aneducation: a multitude of voices
Visits to documenta 14 can be accompanied by a member of the Chorus. The role of the documenta 14 Chorus is to follow the interests of the visitors-listening to and instigating dialogue, debate, and questioning by looking at and experiencing the works of documenta 14. Historically, the Chorus in Greek tragic theater was made up of nonprofessionals and citizens who operated between the audience and actors as commentators, shape-shifters, and empathizers. While often the historical Greek choir would speak from a script with a collective voice, members of the Chorus for documenta 14 and visitors to the exhibition play a dynamic role in thinking critically together about artist projects and giving voice to deep questions, while also drawing out broader perspectives relating to the respective contexts of documenta 14. In this way the visitor is a contributor to documenta 14, negotiating routes, responses, and works alongside members of the Chorus within a given time frame. The interest of documenta 14 aneducation is to create a multitude of voices that continues to resonate with further questions, mythologies, dialogue, stories, debates, and rumors beyond the realm of the exhibition.


It is possible to book group Walks accompanied by members of the Chorus via the webshop.

Tours

The works of art from past documenta exhibitions purchased by the city of Kassel can now be explored on guided tours. In cooperation with documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH, the city of Kassel has created a landing page for the outdoor works of art from past documentas. Those who are interested can select their favorite tour from among three different routes at www.documenta-historie.de or with a smartphone or tablet using the “IZI Travel” app. The three routes are “Friedrichsplatz,” “Staatspark Karlsaue” and “Stadtraum.” The digital documenta Guide accompanies visitors to the works in German or English.

Anfahrt

Herzlich Willkommen in der documenta Stadt Kassel!

Besucheranfragen zur documenta 14

Für alle Fragen rund um den Besuch der documenta 14 gibt es nun eine E-Mail-Adresse: visitors@documenta.de und eine Rufnummer +49 (0)561 7072770. Der Besucherservice gibt Antworten auf alle organisatorischen Fragen. Ob Eintrittspreise, Öffnungszeiten oder Fragen zu Führungen – hier erhalten interessierte Besucher alle wichtigen Informationen.

Anreise mit dem Flugzeug

Die nächstgelegenen Flughäfen sind: Kassel Airport, Frankfurt Airport, Hannover Airport und Paderborn Lippstadt Airport.

Von Kassel Airport aus gelangen Sie mit dem Taxi oder der Buslinie 100 in die Kasseler Innenstadt. Den genauen Fahrplan erhalten Sie auf der Webseite der Kasseler Verkehrsgesellschaft.

Von Frankfurt Airport: direkte Bahnverbindung (ICE) nach Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe
Hannover Airport: Bahnverbindung mit S-Bahn über Hannover Hauptbahnhof und ICE nach Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe
Flughafen Paderborn Lippstadt: Busverbindungen über Hauptbahnhof Paderborn zur Bahnverbindung (ICE) nach Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe

Anreise mit der Bahn

Entfernungen und Fahrtzeiten nach Kassel Wilhelmshöhe mit dem ICE:

Berlin 380 km / 2:33 h
Hannover 164 km / 0:52 h
Frankfurt 193 km / 1:45 h
München 482 km / 3:34 h
Hamburg 307 km / 2:03 h

Alle aktuellen Bahnverbindungen und Fahrzeiten können Sie auf der Webseite der Deutschen Bahn abrufen.

Anreise mit dem Auto

Von Norden oder Osten:
A7 / Ausfahrt Kassel-Nord
Von Süden: A49 / Ausfahrt Kassel-Auestadion
Von Westen: A44 / am Südkreuz auf die A49 / Ausfahrt Kassel-Auestadion


In Kassel angekommen, steht Ihnen für weitere logistische Fragen und für die Vermittlung und Buchung von Hotelzimmern Kassel Marketing zur Verfügung. Kontaktieren Sie hierzu bitte:

Kassel Marketing GmbH
TOURIST INFORMATION INNENSTADT
Wilhelmstraße 23
34117 Kassel
T: +49 561 707707
F: +49 561 7077200
booking@kassel-marketing.de
Öffnungszeiten: Montag bis Samstag
10.00 bis 18.00 Uhr

TOURIST- & KURINFORMATION
im Bahnhof Wilhelmshöhe (ICE-Bahnhof Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe)
Öffnungszeiten:
Montag bis Freitag
10.00 bis 13.00 Uhr &
14.00 bis 18.00 Uhr
Samstag 10.00 bis 14.00 Uhr


Für Fragen und Anregungen stehen wir Ihnen jederzeit zur Verfügung:

documenta und
Museum Fridericianum gGmbH
Friedrichsplatz 18
34117 Kassel
T: +49 561 707270
F: +49 561 7072739
office@documenta.de

Karten

Eintrittskarten können online über den documenta 14 Webshop oder ab Frühling 2017 in den documenta 14 Shops in Kassel und Athen erworben werden. Die Eintrittskarte berechtigt zum Besuch aller Ausstellungsorte der documenta 14 in Kassel. Die Ausstellungsorte in Athen sind zumeist kostenfrei zugänglich. Einige Partnerinstitutionen erheben reguläre Eintrittspreise.


Tageskarte
22 €, ermäßigt* 15 €


Zweitageskarte
38 €, ermäßigt* 27 €


Dauerkarte
100 €, ermäßigt* 70 €


Abendkarte
(gültig ab 17.00 Uhr)
10 €, ermäßigt* 7 €


Schulklassen
(pro Person)
6 €


Familienkarte**
50 €


Kinder (im Alter bis zu zehn Jahren)
freier Eintritt


*Schüler_innen, Auszubildende, Studierende, Empfänger_innen von Grundsicherungsleistungen (z.B. ALG II), Personen, die Freiwilligendienst leisten, Menschen mit schwerer Behinderung (ab 50 Prozent) erhalten ermäßigte Eintrittskarten gegen Vorlage eines entsprechenden Ausweises. Menschen mit schwerer Behinderung und dem Merkzeichen B, H, BL, AG und G zahlen den regulären Eintritt und haben Anrecht auf freien Eintritt für eine Begleitperson.


**Die Familienkarte gilt für bis zu zwei Erwachsene mit bis zu drei Kindern (bis 16 Jahre).

Spaziergänge

„Eine Erfahrung“: Eine Vielzahl von Stimmen
Der Besuch der documenta 14 kann von einem Mitglied des Chors begleitet werden. Die Aufgabe des Chors ist es, auf die Interessen der Besucher_innen einzugehen, ihre Bedürfnisse zu hören und durch das Anschauen und Erfahren der Arbeiten der documenta 14 Dialoge, Diskussionen und Debatten anzustoßen. Historisch bestand der Chor in der griechischen Tragödie aus einer Gruppe von Laien und Bürger_innen, die zwischen dem Publikum und den Schauspielenden als Kommentierende, Gestaltwandler und Empath_innen operierten. Während der historische griechische Chor oft den Text des Stücks mit kollektiver Stimme aufsagte, laden die Mitglieder des Chors der documenta 14 die Besucher_innen der Ausstellung ein, eine aktive Rolle im gemeinsamen kritischen Denken über die künstlerischen Projekte einzunehmen, tiefergehende Fragen anzusprechen und dabei eine breite Perspektive im Bezug auf den jeweiligen Kontext der documenta 14 einzubeziehen. Auf diese Art und Weise werden die Besucher_innen zu Beitragenden der documenta 14 und verhandeln im gegebenen Zeitrahmen Seite an Seite mit den Chorist_innen die Routen, Reaktionen und künstlerischen Arbeiten der Ausstellung. Das Ziel des Vermittlungsprogramms „eine Erfahrung“ ist es, eine Vielzahl von Stimmen zu kreieren, die außerhalb der Ausstellung, in weiteren Fragen, Mythologien, Dialogen, Geschichten, Debatten und Gerüchten weiterklingen.


Von Mitgliedern des Chors begleitete Spaziergänge für Gruppen können im Webshop gebucht werden.

Touren

Die von der Stadt Kassel angekauften Kunstwerke der vergangenen documenta Ausstellungen können nun in geführten Rundgängen erkundet werden: Die Stadt Kassel hat in Kooperation mit der documenta und Museum Fridericianum gGmbH eine eigene Landingpage für die documenta Außenkunstwerke realisiert. Auf der Website www.documenta-historie.de oder über die APP "IZI Travel" können Interessierte mit ihrem Smartphone oder Tablet aus drei verschiedenen Parcours zu den Kunstwerken ihre Lieblingsroute auswählen. Zur Wahl stehen die Rundgänge "Friedrichsplatz", "Staatspark Karlsaue" und "Stadtraum". Der digitale documenta Guide leitet die Besucher in deutscher oder englischer Sprache zu den Kunstwerken.