documenta fifteen

The next documenta will take place from June 18 until September 25, 2022 in Kassel.

lumbung

ruangrupa: “We want to create a globally oriented, cooperative, interdisciplinary art and culture platform that will remain effective beyond the 100 days of documenta fifteen. Our curatorial approach aims at a different kind of collaborative model of resource use—economically, but also in terms of ideas, knowledge, programs, and innovation.”


ruangrupa’s central curatorial approach for documenta fifteen is based on the principles of collectivity, resource building, and equal sharing. They aim to appeal not just to an art audience but to a variety of communities, and to promote local commitment and participation. Their approach is based on an international network of local, community-based organizations from the art and other cultural contexts and can be outlined by the Indonesian term lumbung. lumbung, directly translatable as “rice barn,” is a collective pot or accumulation system used in rural areas of Indonesia, where crops produced by a community are stored as a future shared common resource and distributed according to jointly determind criteria. Using lumbung as a model, documenta fifteen is a collective resource pot, operating under the logics of the commons. It is an agglomeration of ideas, stories, (wo)manpower, time, and other shareable resources. At the center of lumbung is the imagination and the building of these collective, shared resources into new models of sustainable ideas and cultural practices. This will be fostered by residencies, assemblies, public activities, and the development of tools.

Interdisciplinarity is key in this process. It is where art meets activism, management, and networking to gather support, understand environments, and identify local resources. These elements then create actions and spaces, intertwine social relations and transactions; they slowly grow and organically find a public form. This is a strategy “to live in and with society.” It imagines the relations an art institution has with its community by being an active constituent of it. Strategies are then developed based on proximity and shared desires.


The main principles of the process are:
• Providing space to gather and explore ideas
• Collective decision making
• Non-centralization
• Playing between formalities and informalities
• Practicing assembly and meeting points
• Architectural awareness
• Being spatially active to promote conversation
• A melting pot for and from everyone’s thoughts, energies, and ideas

About ruangrupa

ruangrupa is a Jakarta-based collective established in 2000. It is a non-profit organization that strives to support the idea of art within an urban and cultural context by involving artists and other disciplines, such as the social sciences, politics, technology, media, etc., to offer critical observations and views on Indonesian contemporary urban issues.

The Indonesian word “ruangrupa” loosely translates as “a space for art” or “a space form.” ruangrupa also produce collaborative works in the form of art projects such as exhibitions, festivals, art labs, workshops, research projects, as well as books, magazines, and online-journal publications. ruangrupa’s work is an all-encompassing social, spatial, and personal practice, strongly linked to Indonesian culture in which friendship, solidarity, and community are central values.

ruangrupa runs an art space in South Jakarta. The collective has participated in many cooperative projects and exhibitions, including the Gwangju Biennale (2002 and 2018), the Istanbul Biennial (2005), the Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (Brisbane, 2012), the Singapore Biennale (2011), the São Paulo Biennial (2014), the Aichi Triennale (Nagoya, 2016), and Cosmopolis at the Centre Pompidou (Paris, 2017). In 2016, ruangrupa curated transACTION: Sonsbeek 2016 in Arnhem, the Netherlands. In 2018, the collective (together with two other Jakarta-based collectives, Serrum and Grafis Huru Hara) founded GUDSKUL, an educational and networking project for creatives based on cooperative work. At documenta 14, ruangrupa participated with its internet radio station as a partner of the decentralized radio project Every Time a Ear di Soun, which brought together eight radio stations from around the world.

ruangrupa, 2019
Ajeng Nurul Aini, Farid Rakun, Iswanto Hartono, Mirwan Andan, Indra Ameng, Ade Darmawan, Daniella Fitria Praptono, Julia Sarisetiati, Reza Afisina
Photo: Gudskul / Jin Panji

documenta commission

For the first time, the remit of documenta’s Finding Commission has been extended by the Supervisory Board to include the function of a documenta Advisory Board. As the documenta commission, the Advisory Board not only appoints the respective Artistic Direction (as was the case with ruangrupa in February 2019), but also accompanies the continuing project process. The Advisory Board thus provides expert advice to the Supervisory and Management Boards at documenta gGmbH, acts as an ambassador of the documenta exhibition towards the public, can act as a mediator between the Artistic Direction and the Management or Supervisory Board in the event of any differences and finally is responsible for making proposals for the subsequent Finding Commission.


The documenta commission is composed of
• Ute Meta Bauer, Founding Director of the NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore
• Charles Esche, Director of the Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven, Netherlands
• Amar Kanwar, artist, filmmaker, New Delhi, India
• Frances Morris, Director of Tate Modern London, United Kingdom
• Gabi Ngcobo, Curator 10th Berlin Biennale 2018, Germany (South Africa)
• Elvira Dyangani Ose, Director of The Showroom London, United Kingdom
• Philippe Pirotte, professor at Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste - Städelschule Frankfurt/M., Germany (Belgium)
• Jochen Volz, Director of the Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo, Brazil

The international documenta Advisory Board: Frances Morris, Amar Kanwar, Philippe Pirotte, Elvira
Dyangani Ose, Ute Meta Bauer, Jochen Volz, Charles Esche, Gabi Ngcobo
Photo: Nicolas Wefers, 2019

Note on artist's submissions

We thank all artists for their interest in documenta. However, we would like to point out that there is no application procedure for documenta. We hope you will understand that unsolicited applications, portfolios, publications, project descriptions and works submitted by post can therefore not be returned.

Follow documenta fifteen on Facebook and Instagram.

documenta fifteen

Die nächste documenta findet vom 18. Juni bis 25. September 2022 in Kassel statt.

lumbung

ruangrupa: „Wir wollen eine global ausgerichtete, kooperative und interdisziplinäre Kunst- und Kulturplattform schaffen, die über die 100 Tage der documenta fifteen hinaus wirksam bleibt. Unser kuratorischer Ansatz zielt auf ein anders geartetes, gemeinschaftlich ausgerichtetes Modell der Ressourcennutzung – ökonomisch, aber auch im Hinblick auf Ideen, Wissen, Programme und Innovationen."


Im Fokus des kuratorischen Ansatzes von ruangrupa für die documenta fifteen stehen Grundsätze von Kollektivität, Ressourcenaufbau und gerechter Verteilung. Zielgruppe ist nicht nur das allgemeine Kunstpublikum, vielmehr sollen eine Vielzahl von Communities angesprochen sowie lokales Engagement und Partizipation gefördert werden. Die Grundlage des Konzepts mit einem internationalen Netzwerk aus lokalen, gemeinschaftsorientierten Organisationen aus der Kunst und anderen kulturellen Kontexten lässt sich mit dem indonesischen Begriff lumbung umschreiben. lumbung, direkt übersetzt „Reisscheune“, bezeichnet einen in den ländlichen Gebieten Indonesiens gemeinschaftlich genutzten Bau, in dem die Ernte einer Gemeinde als gemeinsame Ressource für die Zukunft zusammengetragen, gelagert und nach gemeinsam bestimmten Kriterien verteilt wird. Als Modell für die documenta fifteen ist lumbung als eine Art kollektiver Ressourcenfundus zu verstehen, der auf dem Prinzip von Gemeinschaftlichkeit beruht. Er versammelt Ideen, Geschichten, menschliches Arbeitspotenzial, Zeit und andere gemeinsam nutzbare Ressourcen. Im Mittelpunkt von lumbung stehen die Vorstellung und der Aufbau dieser kollektiven, geteilten Ressourcen für neue Nachhaltigkeitsmodelle und kulturelle Praktiken. Diese werden durch Residency-Programme, Zusammenkünfte, öffentliche Aktivitäten und die Entwicklung von entsprechenden Instrumenten unterstützt.

Interdisziplinarität ist für diesen Prozess wesentlich. Kunst trifft auf Aktivismus, Management und Vernetzung, um Unterstützung einzuholen, Umgebungen zu verstehen und lokale Ressourcen ausfindig zu machen. Diese Elemente lassen Aktionen und Räume entstehen und führen zu einer Verflechtung sozialer Beziehungen und Transaktionen, die in einer langsamen und organischen Entwicklung schließlich eine öffentliche Form finden. Damit ist eine Strategie umrissen, um „in und mit der Gesellschaft zu leben“. Sie zeichnet ein Bild der Beziehungen zwischen einer Kunstorganisation und ihrer Community, indem diese selbst aktiver Bestandteil davon wird. Auf der Basis von örtlicher Nähe und gemeinsamen Wünschen werden daraufhin Strategien entwickelt.


Die Grundprinzipien des Prozesses sind:
• Bereitstellung von Raum, um Ideen zu sammeln und zu erkunden
• Kollektive Entscheidungsfindung
• Auflösung von Zentralisierung
• Spiel zwischen Formalitäten und Informalitäten
• Organisation von Zusammenkünften und Treffpunkten
• Bewusster Umgang mit Architektur
• Räumliche Aktivität zur Anregung von Gesprächen
• Ein Schmelztiegel für und von jedermanns Gedanken, Energien und Ideen.

Über ruangrupa

ruangrupa ist ein 2000 gegründetes und in Jakarta ansässiges Kollektiv. Als gemeinnützige Organisation fördert ruangrupa durch die Einbindung von Künstlern und anderen Disziplinen wie Sozialwissenschaften, Politik, Technologie oder Medien die künstlerische Idee im urbanen und kulturellen Kontext, um kritische Betrachtungen und Sichtweisen auf urbane Probleme der Gegenwart in Indonesien zu eröffnen.

Das indonesische Wort „ruangrupa“ bedeutet frei übersetzt „Kunstraum“ oder „Raumform“. ruangrupa organisiert außerdem gemeinschaftliche Kunstprojekte wie Ausstellungen, Festivals, Kunstlabore, Workshops, Forschungsprojekte und produziert Bücher, Zeitschriften und Online-Publikationen. ruangrupas Arbeit beruht auf einer ganzheitlichen sozialen, räumlichen und persönlichen Praxis, die stark mit der indonesischen Kultur verbunden ist, in der Freundschaft, Solidarität und Gemeinschaft eine zentrale Bedeutung haben.

ruangrupa betreibt einen Kunstraum im Süden von Jakarta. Das Kollektiv hat an zahlreichen Kooperationsprojekten und Ausstellungen teilgenommen, darunter der Gwangju Biennale (2002 und 2018), der Istanbul Biennale (2005), der Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (Brisbane, 2012), der Singapore Biennale (2011), der São Paulo Biennale (2014), der Aichi Triennale (Nagoya, 2016) sowie Cosmopolis im Centre Pompidou (Paris, 2017). 2016 hat ruangrupa transACTION: Sonsbeek 2016 in Arnheim in den Niederlanden kuratiert. 2018 hat das Kollektiv (gemeinsam mit Serrum und Grafis Huru Hara, zwei weiteren, in Jakarta ansässigen Kollektiven) GUDSKUL gegründet, ein Bildungs- und Vernetzungsprojekt für Kreative, das auf kooperativem Arbeiten beruht. Bei der documenta 14 war ruangrupa mit ihrem Internetradio als Partner des dezentralen Radioprojekts Every Time a Ear di Soun beteiligt, das acht Radiosender weltweit vernetzte.

ruangrupa, 2019
Ajeng Nurul Aini, Farid Rakun, Iswanto Hartono, Mirwan Andan, Indra Ameng, Ade Darmawan, Daniella Fitria Praptono, Julia Sarisetiati, Reza Afisina
Foto: Gudskul / Jin Panji

documenta Kommission

Das Engagement der Findungskommission der documenta wurde vom Aufsichtsrat erstmals um die Funktion eines documenta Beirats erweitert. Als documenta Kommission benennt der Beirat nicht lediglich die jeweilige Künstlerische Leitung (wie im Februar 2019 mit ruangrupa geschehen), sondern begleitet darüber hinaus auch den weiteren Projektprozess. So steht der Beirat dem Aufsichtsrat und der Geschäftsführung der documenta gGmbH fachlich beratend zur Seite, er fungiert als Botschafter der documenta Ausstellung auch in die Öffentlichkeit, er kann in eventuell angespannten Situationen als Vermittler zwischen Künstlerischer Leitung und Geschäftsführung bzw. Aufsichtsrat agieren und schließlich soll er Vorschläge für die nachfolgende Findungskommission unterbreiten.


Die documenta Kommission setzt sich zusammen aus:
• Ute Meta Bauer, Gründungsdirektorin des NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore
• Charles Esche, Direktor Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven, Niederlande
• Amar Kanwar, Künstler, Filmemacher, Neu-Delhi, Indien
• Frances Morris, Direktorin Tate Modern London, Großbritannien
• Gabi Ngcobo, Kuratorin 10. Berlin Biennale 2018, Deutschland (Südafrika)
• Elvira Dyangani Ose, Direktorin The Showroom London, Großbritannien
• Philippe Pirotte, Professor Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule Frankfurt/M., Deutschland (Belgien)
• Jochen Volz, Direktor Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo, Brasilien

Der internationale documenta Beirat: Frances Morris, Amar Kanwar, Philippe Pirotte, Elvira
Dyangani Ose, Ute Meta Bauer, Jochen Volz, Charles Esche, Gabi Ngcobo
Foto: Nicolas Wefers, 2019

Hinweis zu Einreichungen von Künstler*innen

Wir danken allen Künstler*innen für Ihr Interesse an der documenta. Dennoch weisen wir darauf hin, dass es für die documenta kein Bewerbungsverfahren gibt. Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis, dass ungefragt postalisch eingesandte Bewerbungen, Portfolios, Publikationen, Projektbeschreibungen und Werke daher nicht zurückgesandt werden können.

Folge documenta fifteen auf Facebook und Instagram.